don’t mind if i do

Shay in the house at Toads with Fireblossom Friday.

Bang, you’re dead. Maybe that crazy kid driver ran you down, or maybe the aneurysm you didn’t know was in your head exploded. It could have been any of a thousand things, but no matter how you slice it, you won’t be participating in that charity run this afternoon. 

Still, this doesn’t have to be the end, despite what you might have heard. Don’t you feel like you still have something to say? Don’t be shy. After all, what can anyone do to you now? Presentation is strictly up to you. Automatic writing, poltergeist activity, dream messages from the great beyond. C’mon, get happy! You’re gonna slay ’em.

So. To whom may I direct your (phantom) call? What do you want, spirit? Time is money, chop chop, let’s go. You’re killing me here. Just write an original NEW poem and sign the linky. It never, uh, expires.

 

i roll me a slim tube of

tobacco and paper

spark it up and breathe

deep into the void

 

spill a generous dram of fire

into this bottomless glass

who cares now right?

Uisce Beatha’s irony burns

 

throw away the cork

night is endless  in the

Spirit World

theme park

for the dead drunk.

 

notes: Uisce Beatha, pronounced “ish-ka-ba-ha”, takes its name from the ancient Gaelic for “water of life”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

26 responses to “don’t mind if i do

  1. The dead drunk! Very clever. I saw a movie once, called “Defending Your Life”, in which people die and in the afterlife they can eat all they want and never get full or gain weight.

  2. I think I have probably spent way too much of my life imbibing…I like that thought of the last cigarette…I am still convinced that hell is a room full of Photocopying machines and endless photocopying….

  3. I gave up smoking a long time ago, but if you’re dead, it really doesn’t matter! ‘Spirit World theme park for the dead drunk’ made me smile – I’d be sure to meet up with some old acquaintances there..

  4. I especially love the understated way this is written, in short, sharp and very compelling bursts. I have always hoped to go to the Norse version of heaven, the eternal feast at the mead hall of the valiant,( but I don’t think they have tobacco there-still, OK since I don’t smoke.) I especially like the chill in the final stanza–would even appetite become old in ‘endless night?’

    • Initially I struggled with the prompt…trying to go all ‘deep and meaningful’ and then it occurred to me that in death there was nothing left to worry about ( or be told I should worry about) so why not kick back with a fine single malt and a smoke that can’t kill you. Of course you cottoned onto the fact that even this could potentially get tedious.

  5. Nice Paul, I like the lines, “theme park for the dead drunk.”
    Do you remember the CW song, “If there isn’t Mogen David in Heaven I don’t want to go” or so? A 70’s son.
    ..

Leave a Reply

