incarnate trauma

It’s my first time hosting at Toads and so I’m offering a poem about a ‘First’ and have asked the submitting poets to follow the same prompt. Why not pen one yourself? It is a hugely talented and supportive community.

Here’s my ‘First’

 

 

in the beginning

there was nothing

but an ocean of silence

 

into this void a pulse

a rhythmical heartbeat

and i was wired for sound

 

amniotic melodies

surround sounded me

womb wall vibrations

of the king

 

music medicine filled the space

and i floated in harmony

drenched in bliss and love

 

 

the tumult that followed

 

disturbed me

disoriented me

delivered me

 

into a world of white noise

and i gasped my first breath

 

 

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “incarnate trauma

  1. kim881 says:

    You set the bar so high I was tempted to write about my first successful jump! Your poem is rich and full of sound! I love the ‘amniotic melodies’ and ‘womb wall vibrations’.

  2. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    This is absolutely amazing!❤️ Love the rich and powerful descriptions especially; “the tumult that followed disturbed me, disoriented me, delivered me into a world of white noise and i gasped my first breath.” Beautifully executed!❤️

  3. oldegg says:

    For some reason I can’t remember when I was born! However you certainly gave me a good idea what it was like. In all seriousness It was very well written indeed.

  4. Kerry says:

    Definitely a first – I like that birth can be read as a metaphor for the wonder of experiencing any life changing event for the first time.

  5. kanzensakura says:

    I can’t remember being born either. This is a good imaginative take on birth and how the second stanza awakened you to drumming. Nice images of sound within the womb.

    • Magaly Guerrero says:

      P.S. Somehow I missed the fact that this was your first hosting at The Garden. I already posted some other thing today, so I shall come back to the prompt. Firsts should not go unacknowledged. 🙂

Leave a Reply

