after the deluge

I sat in the grove of this October beech cathedral, my heart bursting with autumnal spirit-song. Sometimes nature just does that too me. Around me stood those giants, old, gentle and wise. They had seen it all and yet even they were in awe of the river. Millions of tiny droplets leaping from stone to stone in a game of flow, fueled by a recent deluge.

Clean crisp air, with a whisper of Winter notes, brought to my senses the smell of earth. The smell of the river, whose journey reflects the nature of things. Every moment I stare into it’s movement is new and fresh. The only constant is change. What appears to be there is not. I am still. The beech too. The river is flowing.

journey unfolds us

destination springs from this~

winter will follow

 

17 thoughts on “after the deluge

  1. kim881 says:

    I enjoyed the beech cathedral dripping with rain and the Jackson Brown track very much, Paul. But I had to chuckle at the title, which reminded me of ‘Only Fools and Horses’ – ‘ apres moi la deluge’!

  2. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Water flows in constant renewal, drop-kicking its cycle from puddle to clouds to rain. I do enjoyed your sharing of the Zen natural man poet.

  3. nosaintaugustine says:

    I especially loved this line “Millions of tiny droplets leaping from stone to stone in a game of flow, fueled by a recent deluge.” I was just thinking yesterday that I need more Jackson Browne in my life, too.

Leave a Reply

