no box to put this in

Peace

Peace comes easy in the glade

birdsong soothing every moment

Peace comes easy in the forest

trees whispering songs of the ancients

Peace comes easy in the cabin

time moving so slowly it is stopping

but how do I find Peace in the broken

how do i find Peace in the war zones

how do i find peace with my own troubles

how do i find Peace when so many cannot

it is there

in the breath of the life i engage with

in the simple knowledge of being alive

in the  ever present eternal now

in the understanding that Peace is presence

and in the acceptance

that i can only be responsible

for my own

 

We are writing poems of Peace in the Garden. Feel free to join us.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Peace

  1. Yes, I think you are right, peace is waiting for us. Perhaps it is to be “open,” for peace to come into our life. And our response can always be “peace.”

  2. When I reread your poem, I’m thinking, where there are no other people, there is peace? In the glade, in the forest, in the cabin? But what about life with other people?

  3. Paul I drank a half a cup of coffee this morning and was feeling anything but peaceful until I read your poem. Ahhh…this part was especially beautiful: “it is there
    in the breath of the life i engage with
    in the simple knowledge of being alive
    in the  ever present eternal now” Thanks for sharing peace.

  4. We have no control over the world, only the part that directly affects us. The world and it’s troubles is always hard but, I think we have to live in the now. Life is always going to be full of sorrow and pain, joy and happiness. It is up to us to decide what we carry with us and what we discard. Peace to you. May you carry your peace with you out into the world.

  5. YES! That is it exactly, Paul. We can only be responsible for our own, and peace is presence for sure. This is wisdom and truth. I love it! Enjoy the peace of that cabin, the song of the forest that soothes one’s soul. All will be as it will be, whether we worry or simply wait. I am doing that waiting these days myself.

  6. Sounds right. Paul. We must right our own troubles. Kill the bullies, run and hide? Some are much worse than otherd, most all have to do with other people.
    Thanks for peeking in on me. I don’t have a place in the yard. My nephew has one in his. The shed in the picture belongs to our 96 year old cousin. She is having it torn down and is buying a new one.
    ..

  7. Thank you for the challenge, thank you for these words, I desperately needed them as I am going through a terrifying time. I have composed a poem that did NOT take me to the place my fear presides. Thank you for the brief escapism.

Leave a comment